Types of standards and policies

The SAN has the following types of standards and policies that complement the Sustainable Agriculture Standard. All of these documents can be found in our library.

Check our Standards, Certification Policies and Local Interpretation Guides

You can request a hard copy of our Standard at info@san.ag

General standards

Farm certification: Involves the environmental, social, labor and agronomic management of individual farms.

  • Sustainable Agriculture
  • Livestock Production

Certification of groups: Applies to groups of producers such as associations, cooperatives and federations. The objective of group certification is to make it accessible to farmers that do not have the capacity to become certified on an individual basis.

Chain of Custody: Criteria and processes for supporting the traceability of the products from the farm to the end product.

Climate Module: Specific set of voluntary criteria for climate change adaptation and mitigation that strengthen existing certification criteria and provide added value.

Local Standards

Local Indicators or Interpretation Guidelines: Define how the general sustainable agriculture standard is interpreted and applied to particular crop and country situations.

Means of Verification: Detail the elements of compliance for criteria in audits.In each country with certification activities, they also consider applicable environmental, social and labor legislation.

Certification Regulations

Certification Policy: Description of general certification requirements, for the crops and authorized activities, the scope of the certification and related auditing procedures.

Chain of Custody Policy: Guidelines for achieving chain of custody certification..

List of prohibited agrochemicals and pesticides: Substances that cannot be used on the farms due to their impacts on health and the environment.

Our Members

Transforming Agriculture
for the greater good of all

2017 Sustainable Agriculture Network

Members of:

Phone / Fax (+506) 2272-9312